A pain in the neck

Literally. I have less than two weeks until my MS 150 ride comes around, and I have a huge ache in my neck. It is because of bad posture. A lot of times I lean forward when on the computer, playing video games, or some other things. I have been on the computer quite a bit lately. Transferring DVD movies to digital copies takes time. I want many movies on my computer so I can watch it via AppleTV in another room. Also, it is nice to have a few movies on my phone when I am stuck on an international flight or even on vacation. Sometimes you just need to unwind and relax, watching a movie is a good way to relax.

Also, leaning over a piece of paper when I draw can wreck a neck too.

For the past week or two I have been focusing on posture, stretching and exercise. It has kept me off the bike. I can push through pain, but I am trying to attack it at the source. Due to this, I have not been on the bike much (typically no longer than 1.5-2 hours). I stretch and I try to relax my neck whenever possible.

Also, I am working out the area lightly. Increased blood flow to the area can speed up recovery. I am also planning on getting a massage next week before the ride, possibly two. Sometimes you just have to “work” it out.

Hope all is well with everyone! Ride on my friends!

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A pain in the neck

  1. Oh, and apologies in advance for my horrible grammar. I am busy right now and do not have time to edit it! hahaha

Leave a comment