Hard ride

This week was a strange week. Earlier I got out on my mountain bike and did a training ride. For some strange reason, I wanted to ride even though the wind was 20-mph, gusting to 30. The day was just too beautiful to not get out on the bike.

I loaded up and headed out. In the end I did 44-miles in 3.5 hours. My average speed was very low because of the wind, but my heart rate is what surprised me. My average HR was 175. My max is about 188 or so. Several times I looked down to see it in the 180’s. I was flying up hills, spinning easily on the downhills, and just having a blast. That HR average is not totally spot on either. I paused the computer when I stopped to take breaks. So I was not constantly pushing myself. I took about 3 or 4 breaks during the ride. I think the breaks totaled 30-minutes or so. I did not want to overdo it.

In the end, my Garmin said I burned 2600 calories. Wow, what a great feeling. Since my MS 150 charity ride is just a touch over 1-month away, I am changing gears back to long and easy rides. Just getting the seat time in and building up quality endurance. I now know my power is there, I just need to get my endurance back up.

Before you scold me for pushing myself so hard, I must let you know, I rarely do it. If you divide the training zones into 6 sections (starting at around 110-bpm), I typically sit in zone 4 (150-165). This was a zone 6 ride. My next several rides will be zones 2-3, with maybe a zone 4 on occasion. I just need to put some good music on my MP3 player and sit back and enjoy the long ride.

Have a good one my friends!

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in cycling, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

