Another week down

This week I made it a priority to get some cycling in. I actually did pretty well, surprisingly. A front was in progress of coming in, so the wind was a pretty steady 15-20 mph. Since I have been doing some late night rides, I have very limited roads that I feel comfortable on. Because of the front, that wind just happened to be at my back on the out and in my face on the return.

The ride was 22-miles long. I have been keeping them short so I can get more rides in during the week. Plus, time has been an issue lately, so short rides are better than no rides!

Total Time: 1:33:39
Moving Time: 1:28:37
Avg Speed: 13.8 mph
Avg Moving Spd: 14.6 mph
Max Speed: 19.3 mph
Elevation Gain: 79 ft
Calories: 1,005 C
Avg Temp: 66.5 °F
Avg HR: 156 bpm
Max HR: 178 bpm

This is typical of me while out on the bike:
Avg Bike Cadence: 93 rpm
Max Bike Cadence: 136 rpm

I have been known to crank it up to 140-ish rpm on occasion just for fun. I like to know that I can still crack out some good rpm’s!

It was raining the other day, and I just did not wish to get out in it. It is bad enough riding at night, but with less than ideal conditions on top of it, I decided to pass. I set up the bike on the trainer. I truly have a harder time on the trainer than I do out on the road.

I also get distracted at home much easier. I decided to work on my bar end setup. So I would ride for a mile or two and make a small adjustment. I never stopped the Garmin, so my average speed was incredibly low. I also sweat a ton more. I find it hard to ride and not have wind on me. I overheat easily in those conditions, since my sweat has a hard time evaporating.

Still, it was a good to get on the bike some. I am trying to get back into shape, not only for that MS 150, but to get back into mountain bike racing. I think that will be my only hobby this summer. I hope to do a race or two just to get back into things, but then start training more on the bike. I will have more time on my hands, so I want to make better use of it.

By the way, I am still hovering around the upper 160’s. I hope to hit 160 or below here in two months. I will have to stick to my guns and ride whenever I can.

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in cycling, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

