I have been slacking

Okay, I suppose slacking is not the proper word for what I have been doing. It has been right foul weather over here. The rain pops up out of nowhere, and the lack of waterproof storage on my bicycle keeps me from taking the bike. Now before you start commenting on how “it is only rain”, I do get out for some training rides, rain or shine.

Lately I have been focusing on the house. We moved in almost a year ago and still have a storage problem, or clutter problem. It really depends on your point of view. I have recently started morphing a bedroom into a usable office. I constructed a desk in there, we just got a bookcase, and I put together a 2 year old Christmas gift from my wife, a drafting table. I must say, it is nice having a designated place to draw.

I have also been crawling through the closet in there, throwing out old items and organizing as I go. It is a long, slow process, but it needs to get done. I have also been fighting Xbox issues. Sure, sure, I should not be gaming, however I only do that once, maybe twice a week. Working nights you have to get creative when it comes to keeping yourself awake sometimes.

I decided to do more drawing lately. It really comes down to having the table in the office now. Here are some of the drawings I have done lately:

They are not up to my standards, but I am ditching the “quality control” side of me to get the volume in. I am a perfectionist when it comes to drawing. Now these are sketches, and I have to keep reminding myself of that. Sketches are seldom perfect, often having so many flaws that I run out of fingers after going through both hands. However, nothing replaces practice. The more volume I get in, the more I see simple flaws in my work. In the end it will make me a better artist. Sure I can do a life portrait that looks like a photo, but that takes forever and I do not feel that I am getting any better after it is done.

Just by doing sketches more often, I have noticed a huge change in how I draw. I am finally starting to see the style I am going after, what feels comfortable to me, and training my eye to notice proper anatomy more quickly. I will get there. It is a hobby that I enjoy. It is not cycling, but it is still fun, plus it is easy to do while I am waiting at the doctors office or on vacation. I will post up more work as I progress. Actually I will post up more work if I have been unable to get on the bike due to a busy schedule. Okay, you can argue I could have been on the bike than drawing, however, a back that is really sore and tired from moving and going through boxes does me no good on a bicycle. It will just tear it up more and I had to be at work the next day. I lift heavy things at work too, so I needed what little power I still had in it! So I work on removing clutter, then when I tire out, I draw to keep myself awake.

It is not as much fun as riding my bicycle, but it needs to get done. Once it is done, I hope to start taking my cargo bike around a lot more. Until then, I plan on squeezing in a ride or two here and there.

So my apologies on not writing as often as I have in the past, I just have not been out on the bike much lately. That shall change soon enough!

Let me know if you want to see more art from me in the future. I also would appreciate any comments on my work. Ride on my friends!

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in Art, cycling, Simple Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have been slacking

  1. JustMe says:

    Yes, the weather hasnt just been rainy–we’ve had floods! Drawing is a great hobby–keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

