I love the looks I get

I did another trip to local stores on my cargo bike. I still get a smile when I see someone watching me closely as I ride off on my bicycle. It is like they are saying “is that guy crazy?” with their eyes. I always get a kick out of it.

I went by the new Sports Authority that was built not far from my house. I wanted to get an idea of the store size and where things were. I hung out there for about 20-minutes, just looking around and then left. I got on my bike an the stares began as I went to the pet store.

The pet store is in the same strip center. I went in and got the cat litter, as well as some extras. People were staring once again as I loaded up 80-lbs of cat litter onto the bike.

I honestly would not be surprised if people thought I lost my license, due to a DWI or too many tickets. I bet it goes through their heads as they drive their higher end cars past me. No, I could spend my money on such a car, but I simply choose not to. I want to save my money. I do drive a car to work. It is an older model but still has several more years left in it. I will only give it up when it starts have too many problems.

I still plan on saving those miles left in the engine for work and places is have to drive. When I have errands to run near by, I shall take my bicycle. I would rather arrive hot and sweaty than deal with finding parking spots. Sure you could beat me to the store in the car. However, I will be the one arriving with glistening (a.k.a. sweaty) skin and a smile on my face.

Ride on my friends.

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in commuting, cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I love the looks I get

  1. Newbie says:

    I think someday people like you will be the norm…you are just ahead of the curve. With peak oil and higher prices, we all will have to make similar changes. Enjoy the looks while you can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

