A new direction

I must say that it can be hard to try new things. I have seen how I used to be so difficult when it came to trying something new. My dad used to force me to try new things, so I was always open to the idea. Sometimes things are put in front of you that you tend to hesitate on. Trying sushi was a painful endeavor for my wife. She kept asking me to try it, but I simply refused and ate my chicken teriyaki. Then one day I felt brave and gave it a go. It was a simple California Roll, and it was rather tasty. I have been a sushi-aholic since.

It is always good to try new things, to venture out into the unknown. That is what I am about to do. When I was a kid, I started out on a BMX bicycle. I then graduated to a Huffy mountain bike, which my little brother just donated because it finally was at the end of its life. I later picked up a Diamondback Viper BMX bike just for messing around with. I moved back to mountain bikes with a Cannondale M400. My first road bike followed, a Trek 1.5. Then a Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29-er, followed by a Specialized Langster, then a Gary Fisher HiFi Plus 29-er.

Now I am afraid it is time to start a new era in my life. I am moving on to a new bicycle. The bike is a little more than what I tend to spend on a bike. Hey, before you mention how expensive a HiFi is, let me tell you that I sold my motorcycle to fund that purchase. Since the new bike has a higher price tag, I decided to consolidate my bicycles. My road bike is my baby. That is the bike I take on the MS150 (I typically clock over 180-miles on this two day ride) and several training rides. The Gary Fisher will not go anywhere. All the roots on the trails in the area require a full suspension bicycle to move at a quick pace.

So due to the inflated price tag, I am afraid to say that the Langster will be leaving my ownership. I hardly ride the thing anymore. What kills me is to see a pretty bike like the Langster and know it is not getting ridden. It deserves a happy home where it will get plenty of use. That will be going up on Craigslist later this week. Once that bike moves, I will be stripping down my Specialized Hardrock Sport and getting that prepped to be sold. I do not wish to move too quickly because I want to enjoy the last few weeks with it.

I am going to get with my favorite bicycle shop to order my new errand runner:
A brand new Trek Transport
Trek Transport

The Trek Transport will be my new do-it-all bicycle. I figured it was time to simplify. When I run an errand, I typically am not in a rush and I want to be able to carry items without them being on my back. My Langster rarely was being put into service, so selling that is easy. The Hardrock on the other hand has been my trusty go-to steed for all things. That will be the hardest one to let go. What will make it easier on me is knowing that I will be able to carry more (bulky) items without difficulty and have a extremely versatile commuter.

It is time to take the next step. Pedal on my friends.

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in commuting, cycling, Purchasing Bike and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

