Upgrading

So I finally finished my single speed upgrade.  The issue I had was I could not find any comfortable riding position on my single speed Specialized Langster. Here is a picture of it when I purchased it (click to enlarge):

I really enjoyed the bike for small trips, but anything over that was just too much. The handle bars just felt like they were quite uncomfortable. My hands would ache on longer rides. Last year I upgraded my hardtail mountain bike with a new stem and carbon fiber handlebars. It was a nice weight savings on a bike that was difficult at times to lift the front end up on some obstacles. I checked my information on the two bicycles and found out they had different clamp sizes to the bars. The stem size was the same though. Instead of running out and finding a compatible bar that mounts to the Langster stem, I just swapped the whole thing, stem and all.

Here are some images from the bar swap:
Photobucket

The levers were cheap linear pull Avid FR-5 levers. I got these because they were silver, looked better than the other ones REI had at the store. The bike sat that way for a while. Levers but no brake cables. Two days ago I took another bicycle to the bike shop. It was a rather pleasant 13-mile round trip. When I got back home the parts sat for a little while. Early this morning I had a chance to work on the bike. I went ahead and routed the cables, lubricated them and tightened them down. The brakes have been checked for proper adjustment and it is all done now. I have to true up the rear wheel, then the bike will be ready to ride again.

Here is the end result:


About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

