5K run

I did my first 5K run in over 2 years.  The last one I did was a part of my very first sprint triathlon.  This is the first actual running event I have ever done.  The weather was perfect.  Clear skies, 38-degrees Fahrenheit, and several cold people hopped up on caffeine.  Spandex was out in a big way.  Under Armor cold weather gear was my friend.  I was very cold when the race started.  The first mile my hands were freezing, my stupid self forgot my gloves.

After the first mile, things started warming up.  Turned out to be a perfect day for running.  The cold air was enough to keep you cool, but the gear was just enough to stay warm.  In the end, I ran 3.1 miles in 27:08.  I was behind the 3rd place finisher in my age group by 2 minutes.  The first place finisher crossed the line in 18 minutes!  Ok, I am out of my league here.   Oh well, I finished it.  I did so without stopping, a first for me.  Also I set a PR (personal record) for that distance.

This is a start.  I hope to complete a half-marathon one of these days.   Maybe do a full marathon one day.  We shall see.  One step at a time!

Anyway, the race was great and I had a blast.  I highly suggest others give it a try.  If you want to do it, just get up and do it.  You can always make excuses, it takes something to rise above the excuses and do it, if you are physically capable.

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

