Not Paying Attention

So I was out and about running errands the other day and came across and interesting sight.  I was near the mall that is close to where I live, when I noticed a cyclist.  Normally this does not get my attention.  I give the person room and move on.  Well this guy was not a usual cyclist.  First thing I noticed, he was not wearing a helmet.  If you are on a busy road, please wear a lid.  True it gives you helmet hair, but honestly, your brain is worth too much to not wear one.

The second thing that came to my attention was he was all over the lane.  He did not hold to the right side of the right hand lane.  He would be on the right, swerve to the center, to the right, to the far left of the lane, and back again.  I am having flashbacks to my last blog….

He then proceeded to cut off a car and move into the left lane, all without signaling a lane change or looking to see if a car was coming up on him.  The car up ahead had to hit its brakes to avoid hitting him.  I then witnessed him running the stop sign and head right out into the intersection.  This man just kept getting worse!  So I come up to the intersection and make my left, and the guy was cruising in the left lane!  Ummm, just to let you know guy, slow vehicles must stay right, not left.  You have it backwards.

Not only was he in the wrong lane, he had his head pointing to the sky downing a drink or candy or something.   To say he was not paying attention is a severe understatement.  Once his head went to the sky, he was struggling to keep the bike in his lane.  Those lanes are not small.  The lane is 11-feet wide and yet he was barely within the lane.

So here we come back to where I ask people not to judge other cyclists based on this one guy’s performance.  We do not all do this, I promise.  I keep to the right, signal lane changes, wear a helmet, stop at stop signs and do not swerve.  A good amount of us do what I do actually.  We are not all bad.

I wanted to slow down and talk to him, but I did not want to make a scene or slow up the busy traffic.  I just went on ahead and prayed that he made it to his destination safely.  Maybe he does not care, maybe he is simply misinformed.  I am not sure, but hopefully he will stay in one piece.

Please pay attention fellow cyclists; and drivers, please do not judge the farm based on one bad apple.

About TrekRiderMark

I like to ride bicycles and stay fit. I am also a professional photographer and artist. I dabble a bit in web design and as a graphic artist.
This entry was posted in bicycle, commuting, cycling, Other Riders. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Paying Attention

  1. Texas says:

    With bikers like you described and drivers talking and texting on cell phones–it’s a wonder that any of us get anywhere in one piece.

Leave a Reply

